The LA County Fair Is A Standard Affair

20130922-213646.jpg
I used to spend Sundays sleeping in and detoxing my system from partying the previous night. But today I’m detoxing a deep-fried Snicker’s bar from the LA County Fair instead of alcohol! And comparatively speaking, I think booze would be healthier and cheaper than some of the LA County Fair’s food offerings. Some of the novelty things I tried were chocolate-covered bacon (which tastes exactly like it sounds) and the aforementioned deep-fried Snicker’s bar, which is melted chocolate and nuts battered in a heart attack. The biggest disappointment was Pink’s Hot Dogs. Ask yourself this: “Would I really like to waste an hour of my life waiting in line to spend an extra $10 on a grocery store-quality hot dog?” You can get the same thing for almost 1/10 the price and waiting time at Costco! The food was pretty expensive, which is standard fare for a fair, and the only thing worth the $19 entry is the petting zoo. Sheeps galore! As for food offered there, King Taco is probably the most delicious Mexican food I’ve had, but you don’t have to pay the admission fee to get your hands on some. Just go to the stand-alone restaurants in LA. As for the (burned) bacon-wrapped Turkey leg … let’s just say I didn’t eat all of it as my picture above illustrates! Trust me on this, the Orange County Fair is much more fun overall than LA’s.

Leave a Reply

